For a full list please see my CV.


  • Harry Talley Excellence in Teaching Award (2022), Eta Kappa Nu, The University of Kansas: The Harry Talley award is the highest honor that EECS senior level students vote on an EECS faculty member who has greatly contributed to their engineering success and been an outstanding educator.
  • Miller Awards (2022 & 2021), The School of Engineering, The University of Kansas: For nominee’s significant contributions to the research, teaching, and service mission.
  • The President's Award (2017), City University of Hong Kong: Awarded for exemplary contributions to research, professional education, and sustaiend performance with international recognition.
  • IEEE Communications Society Stephen O. Rice Prize in the Field of Communication Theory (2016), the Best Paper Award of the IEEE Transactions on Communications: Awarded annually to one original paper published in the IEEE Transactions on Communications in the previous three calendar years. The judgement is made based on quality, originality, impact, utility, timeliness, and clarity of presentation.   
  • IEEE International Symposium on Personal, Indoor, and Mobile Radio Communications (PIMRC) Best Paper Award (2012): 2 regular papers were awarded the best papers from over 400 accepted papers.
  • Nokia Bell Labs Kudos Award, Nokia, 2012
  • Nokia Bell Labs Honorable Mention in Top Invention, Nokia, 2011

Honors/Awards of Current & Former Students

  • Guojun Xiong, KU Richard & Wilma Moore MS Thesis Award, 2021 on his outstanding thesis and research outcomes.